fbpx

Season opener against Arvato College Wizards Karlsruhe

Score: 77:86

Catching up without reward

The players of the Ahorn Camp BIS Baskets Speyer have shown morale. They were not rewarded in their season opener in the 2nd Basketball Bundesliga ProB. The Palatinate team lost 77-86 (27-50) to the Arvato College Wizards from Karlsruhe at their home PSD Bank Halle Nord.

"We played far too timidly in the first half and were off the mark against the visitors' zone defence," said BIS sports manager Gerd Kopf.

In the first quarter, the Baden team set the tone and benefited from the hosts' numerous ball losses. Not least thanks to their veteran Rouven Roessler, who scored 26 points - including six successful three-pointers. The Karlsruhe team thus went into the half-time break with a clear lead. "We were very clearly behind. Of course it's hard to turn a game around," explained Speyer's head coach Carl Mbassa.

Nevertheless, his charges showed character after the change of ends and, led by newcomer Kelvin Omojola, started a race to catch up. After a 10:0 run in the final period, the Speyer team reduced their deficit to 74:75, but they did not manage the decisive turnaround. After a weekend without a game, the Ahorn Camp BIS Baskets Speyer will host the Basketball Löwen Erfurt on Saturday, 2 October, starting at 7.30 pm.

Against Karlsruhe, Kelvin Omojola (20 points/5 threes), Darian Cardenas (18/2), DJ Woodmore (12/1) and David Aichele (11) were the best scorers of the cathedral city.

 

Leave comments

Your email address will not be published.



You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

back to top
×

New! Purchase advice via WhatsApp
+49 (0) 171 8866003

×

Saisonauftakt gegen die Arvato College Wizards Karlsruhe

Enstand: 77:86

Aufholjagd ohne Lohn

Moral haben die Spieler der Ahorn Camp BIS Baskets Speyer bewiesen. Entlohnt haben sie sich beim Saisonsauftakt in der 2. Basketball-Bundesliga ProB nicht. Die Pfälzer zogen in der heimischen PSD Bank Halle Nord mit 77:86 (27:50) gegen die Arvato College Wizards aus Karlsruhe den Kürzeren.

„Wir haben in der ersten Halbzeit viel zu ängstlich gespielt und waren gegen die Zonenverteidigung der Gäste neben der Spur“, sagte BIS-Sportmanager Gerd Kopf.

Im ersten Viertel setzten die Badener die Akzente und profitierten von den zahlreichen Ballverlusten der Gastgeber. Nicht zuletzt dank ihres Routiniers Rouven Roessler, der 26 Punkte markierte – davon sechs erfolgreichen Drei-Punkte-Würfen.  Damit  gingen die Karlsruher mit einem deutlichen Vorsprung in die Halbzeitpause. „Wir waren sehr deutlich zurück. Da ist es natürlich schwer, eine Partie zu wenden“ erklärte Speyers Chefcoach Carl Mbassa.

Dennoch zeigten sich seine Schützlinge nach dem Seitenwechsel Charakter und starteten, angeführt von Neuzugang Kelvin Omojola, eine Aufholjagd. Nach einem 10:0-Lauf im abschließenden Durchgang verkürzten die Speyerer ihren Rückstand zwischenzeitlich auf 74:75. Die entscheidende Wende gelang ihnen jedoch nicht. Nach einem spielfreien Wochenende sind die Ahorn Camp BIS Baskets Speyer am Samstag, 2. Oktober, ab 19.30 Uhr Gastgeber der Basketball Löwen Erfurt.

Gegen Karlsruhe waren Kelvin Omojola (20 Punkte/5 Dreier), Darian Cardenas (18/2), DJ Woodmore (12/1) und David Aichele (11) beste Werfer der Domstädter.

 

Leave comments

Your email address will not be published.*



You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Back to top
×

Neu! Kaufberatung per WhatsApp
+49 (0) 171 8866003

×