fbpx

Victory in Erfurt

89:92

With willpower and morale

The second-round start of the Ahorn Camp BIS Baskets Speyer was successful. Coach Carl Mbassa's team won 92:89 (42:53) at the Basketball Lions Erfurt. "That was the result of willpower and morale. Everyone fought for everyone today," said BIS coach Carl Mbassa after the sixth win of the season in the Second Basketball Bundesliga ProB.

After a less than optimal performance especially in the second quarter, the BIS Baskets demonstrated their qualities. "During the halftime break, I told the guys that we can take this game home despite being down by eleven points," explained coach Mbassa. His words had an effect, the guests took command led by Marc Liyanage and DJ Woodmore thanks to their aggressive march. They first fought their way back to 73-73, then took the lead and defended their advantage in an extremely exciting final phase.

"The Speyerers were lucky in the final quarter and ultimately deserved to win," was the verdict of Erfurt's sports director Florian Gut after the Lions' first home defeat of the season. Marc Liyanage (19 points/5 threes), Kelvin Omojola (18/2), DJ Woodmore (17/1), Michael Acosta Marte (13) and Darian Cardenas (11/2) scored in double figures for the BIS team. The hosts' best scorers were Guy Landry Edi (19/2), Tyseem Lyles (17/5) and Noah Kandem (17). Already on Thursday, 6 January, the Speyerers are challenged again from 8 pm. In the early second-round match, FC Bayern München II will be playing in the Nordhalle. Coach Mbassa's team won the first leg in the Audi Dome by a clear 78:51 (35:21).

back to top

Sieg in Erfurt

89:92

Mit Willensstärke und Moral

Der Rückrundenstart der Ahorn Camp BIS Baskets Speyer war erfolgreich. Die Mannschaft von Trainer Carl Mbassa gewann mit 92:89 (42:53) bei den Basketball-Löwen Erfurt. „Das war das Ergebnis von Willensstärke und Moral. Heute hat jeder für jeden gekämpft“, sagte BIS-Trainer Carl Mbassa nach dem sechsten Saisonsieg in der Zweiten Basketball-Bundesliga ProB.

Nach einer nicht optimalen Leistung besonders im zweiten Viertel demonstrierten die BIS Baskets ihre Qualitäten. „In der Halbzeitpause habe ich den Jungs gesagt, dass wir trotz der elf Punkte Rückstand dieses Spiel heimfahren können“, erklärte Coach Mbassa. Seine Worte zeigten Wirkung, die Gäste übernahmen angeführt von Marc Liyanage und DJ Woodmore dank ihrer aggressiven Marschroute das Kommando. Zunächst kämpften sie sich auf 73:73 heran, gingen dann in Führung und verteidigten ihren Vorsprung in einer überaus spannenden Schlussphase.

„Die Speyerer hatten im letzten Viertel Glück im Abschluss und haben letztlich zurecht gewonnen“, urteilte Erfurts Sportdirektor Florian Gut nach der ersten Heimniederlage der Löwen in dieser Saison. Zweistellig trafen für die BIS-Auswahl Marc Liyanage (19  Punkte/5 Dreier), Kelvin Omojola (18/2), DJ Woodmore (17/1), Michael Acosta Marte (13) und Darian Cardenas (11/2). Beste Schützen der Gastgeber waren Guy Landry Edi (19/2), Tyseem Lyles (17/5) und Noah Kandem (17). Bereits am Donnerstag, 6. Januar, sind die Speyerer ab 20 Uhr erneut gefordert. In der vorgezogenen Rückrundenpartie gastiert der FC Bayern München II in der Nordhalle. Das Hinspiel im Audi-Dome hat die Auswahl von Trainer Mbassa deutlich mit 78:51 (35:21) gewonnen.

Back to top
×

Neu! Kaufberatung per WhatsApp
+49 (0) 171 8866003

×